Vancouver riots are typical sports riots with a twist

About half the riots in North America are sports riots. Vancouver is typical in having young, white males fuelled by alcohol as the typical instigators, but atypical in rioting when they lose.

two young men stand and move around in front of a burning white police car

I see a vacation behind bars in your future

Someone suggested shutting down the Skytrain on the afternoon of a game to prevent suburban youth from drifting in to make trouble. Or perhaps a curfew on males?

Posted in Americas. Tags: , . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Vancouver riots are typical sports riots with a twist”

  1. kittywhumpus Says:

    I have never understood the “I’m so happy, I wanna break shit” response to good results.

  2. monado Says:

    Neither have I. But in this case, I think it’s “I wanna break shit, and there will be a crowd so I can get away with it.”


Leave a Reply

