Daily quotation

Greta Christina in pirate regalia

Greta Christina has an atheist meme of the day and this week she’s posting quotations. I thought that this was from Richard Dawkins, but perhaps he was quoting:

“I contend that we are both atheists. I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.” —Stephen Roberts

This is a lovely quote for trying to get a theist to understand how their religion looks to the rest of us. It’s hard to believe I haven’t posted it yet. Thanks for reminding me, Greta!

Posted in religion. Tags: . 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Daily quotation”

  1. jonolan Says:

    No. It’s only useful for dealing with monotheists. It has no bearing on Pantheists like myself. But I never expect one of the Godless to understand these things.

  2. monado Says:

    Oh, well. What do you want: “I believe in several / a dozen /a lot fewer gods than you do?” or “I believe in a lot fewer fictional characters than you do?” Take your pick.


Leave a Reply

