Is the Google Chrome browser doomed?

Farhad Manjoo thinks so. “Google Chrome is doomed!” sounds a bit apocalyptic to me. Everyone whom I’ve talked to who actually tries Google Chrome likes it very much.

CORRECTION: This is about the Chrome operating system, which is based on Ubuntu, not the browser. Thanks, bPer!

3 Responses to “Is the Google Chrome browser doomed?”

  1. bPer Says:

    Hi Mona,

    The article is referring to Google Chrome OS, which is an operating system, not just a browser. I think the article’s conclusions are reasonable – such a limited OS is not likely to achieve more than niche market penetration.

    βPer

  2. monado Says:

    Ah, thanks for pointing that out. It’s a good thing I have you to correct my hasty posting.

  3. bPer Says:

    Hi Mona,

    I should have added that your mistake is understandable, in that naming their browser and their operating system so similarly is simply inviting confusion. Sort of like what their main OS competitor, Microsoft, did with Windows Explorer and Internet Explorer. I can’t tell you how many false steps people have taken over the phone when I have asked them to start one and they instead start the other (and I’m not even in phone support).

    βPer


Leave a Reply

